The EdTA offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19 in observance of Juneteenth.

Close this search box.

New EdTA Board Leadership Term Begins

Thespians singing on stage at the International Thespian Festival

87e8726e 27ba 4367 87c9 ac613cb12040Gai Laing Jones  of Ojai, Calif. is beginning her two-year term as President of the Educational Theatre Association board. Jones was elected in 2016 and served as vice president from 2017 until now.

Jones is a longtime theatre educator having served for 34 years as theatre and troupe director at El Dorado High School, in addition to instructing at several California colleges, theatres, workshops, and festivals as a teaching artist. She is the founder of CA Youth in Theatre and the author of Raising the Curtain, Activities for the Theatre Arts Classroom and Break a Leg, Tips for the Theatre Educator. She has also served EdTA as California chapter director.

b450b477 03cf 4105 91be e0cae6fbf3b3Also beginning their board terms on July 1 are three individuals elected by members of the Educational Theatre Association in 2018. For the position of vice president/president, members elected Scott Wilson of Columbus, Ohio. Wilson has served EdTA in several roles at the national level including as an International Thespian Officer adult advisor and as a member of the Advocacy Leadership Network. Has served on the board of Ohio Thespians for 17 years and for four years as chapter director. He served on the National Core Arts Standards theatre writing team and has represented EdTA at 11 state Thespian festivals.

For the two positions on the board of directors the members beginning their terms are Helen Duranleau-Brennan of Davenport, Iowa and David Tate Hastings of Olathe, Kansas.

f31a3e07 0e4e 45b0 a1c6 f0639b1f256fDuranleau-Brennan has served as chapter director for Iowa Thespians and intermittently has been a member of the Iowa Thespians board during the last 20 years. While teaching at the secondary level, she held several leadership roles and served on committees for the arts, education, and advocacy, including the Iowa Department of Education Literacy Committee. She also has served on the advisory board of Iowa Alliance for the Arts. Duranleau-Brennan was also inducted into the EdTA Hall of Fame on Friday, September 14, 2018 at the EdTA National Conference.

18606e7a 5b13 475f a111 fd45518745a5David Tate Hastings has served as co-chapter director for Kansas Thespians. For the last 16 years has taught theatre at Olathe South High School, which under his leadership received EdTA’s Outstanding School Award. He has served on various committees for EdTA including the National Coalition for Core Arts Standards pilot and Theatre Educator Evaluation Workbook.


Latest EdTA News