Help EdTA advocate for you! Complete the 2024 State of Theatre Education Survey by May 24. One survey respondent will be chosen to receive a $100 gift card!

Close this search box.

Leaders sought for EdTA Board positions

Thespians singing on stage at the International Thespian Festival

The Educational Theatre Association Nominating Committee is accepting applications from prospective candidates for positions on the EdTA Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee will select a slate of candidates for three board director positions for an election that will be conducted online beginning in August and concluding during the annual EdTA National Conference September 13-16 in Denver, Colorado.

Any EdTA professional member, including Thespian troupe directors, is eligible to stand for election by filing a candidate vita form with the Nominating Committee. The committee has been instructed by the board to seek two to four candidates for each of the two open seats and one VP/President.

“EdTA is looking for strong leaders, devoted to the mission of the Association, to serve, lead and promote the growth of this organization,” EdTA Board President Debbie Corbin said. “EdTA and ITS put students first. If you are passionate about furthering theatre education, I hope you will consider this commitment. Many theatre teachers and professionals have found great fulfillment in lending their expertise and enthusiasm to the expansion of theatre education for our students.”

The filing deadline is March 26 at 12:00 p.m. EST.

The Board director positions have three-year terms. The VP/President will serve for a four year term, two years as Vice President and two years as President. All newly elected Board members will take office on August 1, 2019.

The Nominating Committee is chaired by board Past President Frank Pruet. Members include board Vice President Gai Jones; Kentucky Chapter Director Carolyn Greer; Alabama Chapter Director Troy Taylor; at-large members Alex Minton of Chicago, Illinois and Mary Schuttler of Greeley, Colorado; Executive Director Julie Cohen Theobald (non-voting); and Director of Chapters and Communities Diane Carr (non-voting). President Debbie Corbin is an ex officio member.


Latest EdTA News