Help EdTA advocate for you! Complete the 2024 State of Theatre Education Survey by May 24. One survey respondent will be chosen to receive a $100 gift card!

Close this search box.

Kansas Educator Greg Shaw Recognized with Spirit of Thespis Award

Group of students holding up a sign congratulating Mr. Shaw on his award

Theatre teacher Greg Shaw has been honored with the International Thespian Society (ITS) Spirit of Thespis Award. A discretionary honor that recognizes up to three schools or individuals that, when faced with a serious challenge, demonstrated grace under pressure.

20 SpiritThespis GregShaw PittsburgKS

Shaw is the Director of Theatre at Pittsburg High School in Kansas and serves as the director of Thespian Troupe 3149. He has taken numerous productions to Kansas Thespian Festival including the 2020 opening show Pippin, and the 2019 International Thespian Festival, Bring It On, the Kansas Thespians All-State Musical.

Shaw also serves on the Kansas Thespians Board of Directors. He has continued this service, and his teaching, during a difficult battle with cancer.

In nominating him for the award Jennifer Morgan-Beauchat, director of Thespian Troupe 287 in Leavenworth, Kansas, described Shaw as being gritty, creative, determined, and a stalwart advocate for his students and program.

“He is considered by many to be a fine director, teacher, and friend,” she said, adding she wishes the Spirit of Thespis Award “will offer hope and inspiration to an amazing person who represents theatre in our schools with grace and class.”

The award was presented as part of a teacher tribute at the first-ever Virtual International Thespian Festival.  

“This surprise was very special — and no one can usually surprise me!,” Shaw said. “I am very honored to have received the award. We always start every pre-show by saying, ‘if it falls pick it up, if someone falls, help them up.’ This award definitely exemplifies this motto. I couldn’t accept this without recognizing the team that helped me when my health was suffering. Jason Huffman, Chuck Boyles, Cooper Neil, Susan Laushman, Kimberly Arzoian, Julie Laflen, Andra Stefanoni, Ray Cornell, my daughter, McKenna, the drama mamas and papas, my students, the teachers and administration and I’m sure I’m missing some! None of our success has ever stemmed from luck. Hard work, talent and confidence in our team is what makes PHS Theatre thrive.”  


Latest EdTA News