The EdTA offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19 in observance of Juneteenth.

Close this search box.

Get to Know the 2020 Board Candidates

A board room with a table and several orange chairs

 The slate of candidates for the 2020 Educational Theatre Association Board of Directors election has been finalized.

The filing period for ballot petitions has expired without any petitions having been filed. Thus, the ballot will carry the names put forward by the EdTA nominating committee for two director seats.

The ballot will also feature proposed changes to the code of regulations. You can read more about the proposed changes in the 2020 Election Library.

The election will begin on January 15 by way of online balloting. All members in good standing as of January 3 will be eligible to vote. Members will receive voting instructions via email on January 15, making it essential that members’ information is up to date with EdTA’s membership department. Voting will close on March 1 at 11:59 p.m. PST.

A compilation of the candidates’ responses to an election questionnaire can be found in the 2020 Election Library.

The candidates are:

Tracey Buot

Tracey Buot. Atlanta, Georgia. For the last seven years has taught theatre students at Cambridge High School in Milton. Has held several leadership positions at the state, local, and national levels for arts and politics, including chairing for Young Democrats of America. Currently serves on the Teacher Advisory Council for the Michael C. Carlos Museum at Emory University.

Erin Carr

Erin Carr. Cincinnati, Ohio. A Thespian alumna and EdTA professional member. An independent theatre contractor who has served as a teaching artist for EdTA as well as a dozen nationally recognized theatre companies. Grant recipient from the National Endowment for the Arts as a selected teaching artist in association with EdTA’s Model Curriculum Framework Initiative. 

Mark Drum

Mark Drum. Astoria, New York. Currently serves as a Trustee of the Educational Theatre Foundation Board. A Thespian alum, former International Thespian Officer, and former State Thespian Officer from Michigan. Served on the New York Thespians chapter board for four years. Has represented EdTA at Thespian events as a teaching artist  since 2016. Recipient of the 2017 Daron Hawkins Scholarship.

Shannon Horn

Shannon Horn. Goose Creek, South Carolina. Theatre professor at College of Charleston and former troupe director. Serves as the advocacy chair and Junior Thespians representative for South Carolina Thespians and is a member of EdTA’s Advocacy Leadership Network.  Advocates during National Arts Advocacy Day and EdTA Theatre Education Advocacy Day. Previously sat on local and state arts boards.

Jennifer Morgan Beuchat

Jennifer Morgan-Beuchat. Valley Falls, Kansas. Troupe director at Leavenworth High School for five years. Currently serves as the advocacy chair and public relations officer for Kansas Thespians board and is a member of the EdTA Advocacy Leadership Network. Former reviewer for the National Core Arts Standards Curriculum and previous treasurer of Kansas Alliance for the Arts in Education.

Mary Sattler

Mary Schuttler. Greeley, Colorado. Head of Theatre Education at University of Northern Colorado. Former EdTA vice president, president and past president. Has served in numerous leadership positions, including Colorado Thespians board, EdTA Collegiate Advisory Committee, Colorado Model Content Standards for Theatre chair, and National Coalition for Core Arts Standards for Theatre. 2019 recipient of EdTA Founders’ Award.


Latest EdTA News