Help EdTA advocate for you! Complete the 2024 State of Theatre Education Survey by May 24. One survey respondent will be chosen to receive a $100 gift card!

Close this search box.

EdTA Members Elect Two Board Directors

Person typing on a laptop computer at a desk

Members of the Educational Theatre Association (EdTA) elected two board members in voting that closed on March 1, 2020. For the two positions on the Board of Directors the winning candidates are Erin Carr, Cincinnati, Ohio and Mark Drum, Astoria, New York.

Erin Carr is a Thespian alum of Troupe 5433, St. Ursula Academy in Cincinnati. An EdTA professional member, Carr is an independent theatre contractor who has served as a teaching artist for EdTA as well as a dozen nationally recognized theatre companies. She is also a selected teaching artist in association with EdTA’s Model Curriculum Framework Initiative, funded by a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Mark Drum is a Thespian alum of Junior Troupe 88331 at East Middle School and Thespian Troupe 6513, Farmington-Harrison High School, both in Farmington Hills, Mich. As a student he served as State Thespian Officer from Michigan as well as an International Thespian Officer at the national level. Drum, who is an EdTA professional member, has served as a teaching artist at many chapter events, and on the New York Thespians chapter board since 2016. In 2017, he received the Daron Hawkins Scholarship. He currently serves as a Trustee of the Educational Theatre Foundation Board.

All of the updates to the Code of Regulations voted on in the election passed.

The EdTA Board is comprised of eight elected and three appointed members. These two elected board members will join recently-appointed member Carolina Garcia.

The three-year terms for these board members will begin on July 1, 2020.


Latest EdTA News