EdTA phone lines will be out of service on Tuesday, August 15 for routine maintenance. We apologize for any inconvenience. View other ways to contact us.

Board Fills Vacancies With Longtime Educators

A board room with a table and several orange chairs

The EdTA board has filled three board vacancies with experienced, longtime educators who bring stability, continuity, and diversity to the board and association. Your current board of directors now includes:

Gai Laing JonesPresident/Past PresidentTerm ends June 30, 2022
Helen Duranleau-BrennanVice President/PresidentTerm ends June 30, 2024
Laurie BaskinSecretaryTerm ends June 30, 2021
Jeff WhitingTreasurerTerm ends June 30, 2023
Erin CarrBoard DirectorTerm ends June 30, 2023
Mark DrumBoard DirectorTerm ends June 30, 2023
Carolina GarciaBoard DirectorTerm ends June 30, 2024
Joannarae IbañezBoard DirectorTerm ends June 30, 2024
Silvia C. ScaifeBoard DirectorTerm ends June 30, 2022
Mary SchuttlerBoard DirectorTerm ends June 30, 2024
Scott WalkerBoard DirectorTerm ends June 30, 2022

Sitting board director Helen Duranleau-Brennan of Davenport, Iowa, will serve as vice president until June 30, then as president for two years, and past president for one year. A former theatre teacher and Iowa Thespians chapter director, she now helps lead EdTA’s Advocacy Leadership Network and works as a literacy, arts, and Title III consultant for Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency.

Silvia C. Scaife of Auburn, Alabama, is career technical education director for Auburn City Schools and festival performance coordinator on the Alabama Thespians board. She will serve until June 2022.

Additionally, sitting board director Scott Walker, a theatre teacher in Milwaukie, Oregon, will extend his board director seat until June 2022.

Recently elected board directors Mary Schuttler of Greeley, Colorado, and Joannae Rae Ibañez of Pico Rivera, California, will begin their terms immediately.

The vice president seat and two board director seats were recently vacated by Scott Wilson, Marti Fowler, and David Hastings, respectively. A board vote is the process for filling unexpected vacancies on the board, according to the EdTA Code of Regulations:

Section 4.8VacanciesThe Board of Directors may fill any vacancy that may occur in the Board of Directors, including Elected Directors, Appointed Directors, President and Vice President, by election of a successor Director to hold office during the unexpired term of the vacant Director position. Election shall be by a majority vote of the Directors constituting a quorum and entitled to vote at such meeting. The unexpired term shall not count as a term of office as defined by these Regulations and may be served in addition to the term limits established by these Regulations. An individual may be elected only once to complete an unexpired term.

Learn more about the board of directors’ role in EdTA and see the results of the 2021 board election, which concluded in March.


Latest EdTA News

Actors from Stone Crossed holding weapons
high school plays

Stone Crossed

The Stone Age musical now available for educational licensing. New original musical

Read More »