Inducting students into the International Thespian Society this spring? Plan ahead and induct early, following instructions here.

EdTA’s member services system is currently undergoing maintenance.
Login abilities may be impacted, which may affect certain troupe business capabilities. 
Please email with any questions.

Close this search box.


Hall of Fame Inductees pose at the 2022 Theatre Education Conference
2022 Hall of Fame inductees pose with past inductees at the 2022 Theatre Education Conference

Awards for Schools & Teachers

EdTA’s awards program honors members, volunteers, and supporters for their notable accomplishments in theatre education. Most are awarded annually. The nomination and application period for each academic year is February 1 through April 1 except where noted.

Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Teacher of the Year Award

The Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Teacher of the Year Award is presented by The ASCAP Foundation and the Educational Theatre Association. This award recognizes the highest level of achievement for a high school or middle school musical theatre teacher.

  • One recipient awarded annually
  • Includes a cash prize of $5,000
  • Nominee must be a working theatre teacher (not retired) who produces musicals at their school
  • Nominations may be submitted by anyone excluding family members (self, student, peer, principal, etc.)
Administrator's Award

The Educational Theatre Association Administrator’s Award recognizes outstanding school administrators who have demonstrated exemplary support for educational theatre.

Hall of Fame Award

The Educational Theatre Association Hall of Fame Award is presented annually to EdTA members who have dedicated their careers to promoting and advancing the field of educational theatre.

Inspirational Theatre Educator Award

The International Thespian Society’s Inspirational Theatre Educator Award recognizes individuals who have inspired their students and dedicated themselves to providing quality theatre education.

TIOS Outstanding Impact Award

The Theatre In Our Schools Outstanding Impact Award recognizes  Thespian troupes who have made a significant impact in their schools and communities through their advocacy efforts to advance the field of theatre education. Applications are due April 15 annually, giving schools a chance to compile necessary evidence from their TIOS activities in March.


Founders' Award

The Educational Theatre Association’s Founders’ Award is presented to an individual or group who has made significant contributions to the growth and development of theatre education, research, and practice. The award recognizes work that supports the principles and mission of the founders to promote and strengthen theatre education. The award is selected by EdTA staff, who welcome nominations for consideration.

President's Award

The Educational Theatre Association’s President’s Award is presented to an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the association, the president of the board of directors, the board as a whole, or volunteer leadership of EdTA. The recipient is selected by the sitting EdTA board president.

Volunteer of the Year Award

The Educational Theatre Association’s Volunteer of the Year Award recognizes individuals who support the association through exceptional volunteer efforts.

Honorary Thespian of the Year Award

The International Thespian Society’s Honorary Thespian of the Year Award recognizes individuals who have gone above and beyond the standard duties of a volunteer.

Past award recipients can be viewed in the Awards library.

Interested in serving as an adjudicator? Please complete the application.

Email with any questions.

Share This Page