Awards, Grants, and Scholarships

EdTA raises the stature of theatre education by recognizing its members’ accomplishments, and strengthens the field by providing financial support to college-bound Thespians and those in need.

2020 Distinctions Granted


Icon illustration of an award ribbon


Icon illustration of an award letter with a dollar sign
$ 0

(including Thespian Relief Grants)


Icon illustration of a graduation cap with a dollar sign
$ 0


Outstanding School Award

Recognizing theatre programs that exemplify and promote high standards in educational theatre


Harry S. Truman High School
Troupe 5008
Levittown, Pennsylvania
Director Tracey Gatte

OutSchoolAwardRecipMillardWestITS Induction Dec 2019 PHOTO

Millard West High School
Troupe 5483
Omaha, Nebraska
Director Brooke Phillip


New Albany High School
Troupe 4501
New Albany, Indiana
Director Amy Miller


Olathe South High School
Troupe 5006
Olathe, Kansas
Director David Tate Hastings

Outstanding Administrator Award

Recognizing outstanding individuals who have demonstrated exemplary support for educational theatre

Shellie Hatch Pasco WA

Shellie Hatch
Director of curriculum and assessment at Pasco School District
Pasco, Washington
Home of Pasco High School 
Troupe 6569

Inspirational Theatre Educator Award

Recognizing individuals who have inspired their students and dedicated themselves to providing high quality theatre education

Victoria Kesling Councill

Victoria Kesling-Councill
New Kent High School
Troupe 7644
New Kent, Virginia


Sarah Lindvall
West Forsyth High School
Troupe 7193
Cumming, Georgia


John Tourtellotte
Hollywood High School
Troupe 2487
Los Angeles, California

Honorary Thespian of the Year

Recognized for going above and beyond in their volunteer role

Debra Brinkman

Debra Brinkman
Cape Central High School
Troupe 1508
Cape Girardeau, Missouri

Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Teacher of the Year

Recognizing the highest level of achievement for an outstanding middle or high school musical theatre teacher

Corey Mitchell

Corey Mitchell
Northwest School of the Arts
Troupe 5634
Charlotte, North Carolina

Hall of Fame

Recognizing individual members who have made outstanding contributions to theatre education for 20 years or more

Tim Buchheit

Tim Buchheit
St. Francis Borgia
Regional High School
Troupe 2787
Washington, Missouri


Michael Daehn
Retired from Ball State University
Muncie, Indiana


Marti Fowler
Retired from Hazelwood School District
Chesterfield, Missouri


Billy Houck
Reitred from Fremont High School, Troupe 2753
Carmichael, California

Spirit of Thespis Award

Recognizing school or individuals that demonstrate grace under pressure when faced with a serious challenge

Spirit of Thespis Award Greg Shaw 2020 with Plaque

Greg Shaw
Pittsburg High School
Troupe 3149
Pittsburg, Kansas

TIOS Outstanding Impact Award

Recognizing exemplary advocacy efforts for Theatre in Our Schools month and beyond
Leavenworth High School Troupe

First Place
Leavenworth Senior High School
Troupe 287
Leavenworth, Kansas

Pennsbury High School

Second Place
Pennsbury High School
Troupe 830
Fairless Hills, Pennsylvania

Gulfport HS

Third Place
Gulfport High School
Troupe 4779
Gulfport, Mississippi

Standing Ovation Award

Recognizing a corporation or organization that makes significant contributions to theatre education on the national level through philanthropic efforts or its programs and activities
Schubert Logo


Amy Bennett Musical Theatre Scholarship

Granted to a graduating senior entering a college program to major in musical theatre
Sophia Hillman

Sophia Hillman
Olathe North High School
Troupe 3310
Olathe, Kansas

Board of Directors Scholarship

Granted to a Thespian alum college student pursuing a career in theatre education


Audrey Burgoon
Kansas State University

Bob and Marti Fowler Future Theatre Educator Scholarship

Granted to a student pursuing a theatre education major


Susan Nash
Canby Union High School
Troupe 632
Oregon City, Oregon

Christopher L. Hunt Scholarship

Granted to Thespians who plan to use skills learned in theatre in a business or marketing career


Jessa Laboissonniere
El Dorado High School
Troupe 199
Fullerton, California

Melba Day Henning Scholarship

Granted to a college student enrolled full-time pursuing theatre education studies


Hector Pascual Alvarez 
California Institute of the Arts 

Michael J. Peitz Leadership Scholarship

Granted to a Thespian who successfully demonstrates leadership abilities

Tiffany Hoang
Foster High School
Troupe 7961
Richmond, Texas

Presidents’ Leadership Scholarship

Granted to Thespians who successfully demonstrate leadership skills

Anna Hastings Headshot

Anna Hastings
Olathe South High School
Troupe 5006
Olathe, Kansas


Jennifer Jarvis
Newnan High School
Troupe 7132
Newnan, Georgia


BookTix National Conference Grants

Provides access to educators by covering their registration fees

Sarah Halstead

Sarah Halstead
Fairview High School
Troupe 2866
Boulder, Colorado

BookTix Conference Grant Courtenay Cholovich

Courtenay Cholovich
Dalton Middle School
Troupe 89484
Dalton, Georgia

BookTix Conference Grant Emily Ann Moriarty PHOTO

Emily-Ann Moriarty
Barnett Junior High School
Troupe 89741
Arlington, Texas

BookTix Conference Grant Sadie Andros PHOTO

Sadie Andros
Cape Henlopen High School
Troupe 1321
Lewes, Delaware

BookTix Conference Grant Autumn Caro PHOTO

Autumn Caro
Kaffie Middle School
Troupe 88750
Corpus Christi, Texas

BookTix Conference Grant Kirsten McCleary PHOTO

Kirsten McCleary
San Clemente High School
Troupe 3038
San Clemente, California

Jana Heyl cropped

Jana Heyl
McDonough High School
Troupe 303
White Plains, Maryland

Doug Finney Festival Grant

Given annually to four inducted Thespians to attend the International Thespian Festival

Olivia Albertson

Olivia Albertson
Prairie Heights High School
Troupe 7436
Orland, Indiana

Amber Berrey

Amber Berrey
Paola High School
Troupe 66
Paola, Kansas

Zoe Bowers

Zoe Bowers
Urbana High School
Troupe 161
Urbana, Illinois

Andrew Spriggs

Andrew Spriggs
Jemicy School
Troupe 8269
Westminster, Maryland

Leadership Grant

Given to a Thespian who has demonstrated leadership through Thespian activities to attend International Thespian Festival
Campbell Lemons

Campbell Lemons
O.D. Tompkins High School
Troupe 7963
Katy, Texas

Linda P. Wise Grant for Theatre Educators

Awarded to an EdTA member educator who presents a plan for an in-class program in need of financial support

Tonya Hayes
Gulfport High School
Troupe 4779
Gulfport, Mississippi

Ronald L. Longstreth ITF Grant

Given to a Thespian who is not a U.S. citizen to attend International Thespian Festival
Berenike Weiss

Berenike Weiss
Augustusburg, Germany

Send a Leader Diversity Grant

Awarded to student Thespians with experience in diversity-based leadership, service, and social justice activities

Marissa Barker
Copperas Cove High School
Troupe 549
Copperas Cove, Texas

Tavis Cunningham

Tavis Cunningham
Hoke County High School
Troupe 4599
Raeford, North Carolina


Jeyna Lynn Gonzales
J. R. Arnold High School
Troupe 6371
Panama City Beach, Florida

Sara Gushue

Sara Gushue
St. Joseph’s Catholic School
Troupe 6388
Greenville, South Carolina

Cameron Holder

Cameron Holder
Grimsley High School
Troupe 7993
Greensboro, North Carolina


Caitlin Johnson
Jackson Academy
Troupe 8632
Jackson, Mississippi

Caleb Mosley

Caleb Mosley
Smithson Valley High School
Troupe 3743
Spring Branch, Texas

Send a Troupe to International Thespian Festival

Awarded to a current Thespian troupe to help cover registration to attend the festival
Arnold High School

Arnold High School
Troupe 6371
Panama City Beach, Florida
Director Kathleen McNulty Mann

© 2021-2025 Educational Theatre Association