Help EdTA advocate for you! Complete the 2024 State of Theatre Education Survey by May 24. One survey respondent will be chosen to receive a $100 gift card!

Close this search box.

Announcing 2022 EdTA Scholarship Recipients

Grace Kelly Scholarship Winners 2022
Educational funding of $49,750 Awarded to Students in Arizona, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Kansas, Missouri, Nevada, Oregon, Texas, Virginia, Washington, and British Columbia

The Educational Theatre Association annually recognizes student achievement through a variety of scholarships funded through its philanthropic arm, the Educational Theatre Foundation. The 2022 recipients are as follows:

Aaron Sullivan, winner of the Mark Drum Scholarship

The Mark Drum Scholarship awards $1,250 to support applicants from Asian or Pacific Island heritage groups traditionally underrepresented in the theatre industry. The 2022 recipient is Aaron Sullivan from Bastrop High School in Bastrop, Texas.

Jace Petrovich, winner of the Kenny D Hasija ScholarshipThe Dr. Kenny D. Hasija Scholarship awards $1,000 to support applicants from diverse groups that are historically underrepresented in the theatre industry, such as those who are Black, Indigenous, or people of color. The 2022 recipient is Jace Petrovich of Klein Collins High School in Spring, Texas.

Catherine Mennenmeyer, winner of the Christopher L Hunt ScholarshipThe Christopher L. Hunt Scholarship awards $1,000 on behalf of the late Chris Hunt, former EdTA marketing director, to Thespians who plan to use skills learned though theatre in a career focused on business or marketing. Catherine Mennenmeyer of Troy Buchanan High School in Troy, Mo., is this year’s recipient.

Audrey Burgoon, Gai Laing Jones theatre educator scholarship winner

Mitchell Pace Gai Laing Jones Theatre Educator Scholarship

Two EdTA scholarships specifically support future theatre educators. The Gai Laing Jones Theatre Educator Scholarship awards $1,000 to two applicants who are pursuing a theatre education major in their undergraduate studies. This year’s recipients are Audrey Burgoon of Salina Central High School in Manhattan, Kan. and Mitchell Pace of Oregon City Senior High School in Oregon City, Ore.

Karina Guerra, Future Theatre Educator Scholarship WinnerThe Future Theatre Educator Scholarship was created by EdTA chapter leaders and awards $1,500 to a student pursuing a career in theatre education. This year’s recipient is Karina Geurra of Ocoee High School in Ocoee, Fla.

Charles Duval, winner of the Michael J. Peitz ScholarshipThe Michael Peitz Leadership Scholarship awards $1,500 to a Thespian who successfully demonstrates leadership abilities. The 2022 recipient is Charles Duval of the Iolani School in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Alexander Mitchell, Presidents Leadership Scholarship WinnerThe Educational Theatre Association President’s Leadership Scholarship recognizes Thespians who successfully demonstrate leadership abilities with a $1,000 scholarship created with donations from and/or in honor of past and current EdTA board presidents. The 2022 recipient is Alexander Mitchell of Cherry Creek High School in Centennial, Colo.

Isabella Ambroise, EdTA Board of Directors ScholarshipThe EdTA Board of Directors Scholarship, a $1,000 scholarship created with donations by and/or in honor of past and current EdTA board directors, is awarded to Isabella Ambroise of the Las Vegas Academy of the Arts in Nevada.

Grace Kelly Scholarship Winners 2022
Back Row: Diana Kemppainen (sponsor), J’Kyil Poole, Daiara Garcia, Wyatt Hardy, Lexi Limin | Front Row: Adam Flores, Nicholas Wilkinson, Denver Dickenson, Kevin Anderson | Not pictured: Ginny McGee, Caroline Yim

Scholarships were also awarded during the International Thespian Excellence Awards. The Grace Kelly Scholarships were awarded to 10 top scorers who represented the highest level of achievement and promise for high school theatre makers and performers. Five $6,000 scholarships for college education, along with internship stipends and professional mentors were awarded to graduating seniors Kevin Anderson and Nicholas Wilkinson of Tri-Cities High School in East Point, Ga.; Adam Flores of Tuloso Midway High School in Corpus Christi, Texas; Daiara Garcia of Alief Taylor High School in Houston, Texas; and J’Kyil Poole of George Washington Carver Magnet High School in Houston, Texas.

Additionally, five $1,000 training scholarships were awarded to underclassmen Denver Dickenson of Casteel High School in Queen Creek, Ariz.; Wyatt Hardy of Sullivan High School in Sullivan, Mo.; Lexi Limin of Fleetwood Park Secondary School in Surrey, B.C., Canada; Ginny McGee of the Rock Ridge High School in Ashburn, Va.; and for the second year running, to Caroline Yim of Juanita High School in Kirkland, Wash.

The Grace Kelly Scholarships are made possible through funding from the Princess Grace Foundation.

Corgan Atkins, Amy Bennett Scholarship winner, posed in front of the EdTA step and repeatThe Amy Bennett Musical Theatre Scholarship, a $2,500 prize awarded to a top-scoring musical theatre performer who plans to study musical theatre at a college or conservatory, was awarded to Corgan Atkins of Willow Canyon High School in Surprise, Ariz.

“It’s an honor to recognize so many outstanding Thespians with nearly $50,000 in scholarships this year,” said Chief Content Officer Allison Dolan. “We are grateful to all the individual donors and the Princess Grace Foundation for their generous support to help these students achieve their college dreams in theatre, theatre education, and beyond.”

Learn more about the 2022 scholarship winners.


Latest EdTA News