The EdTA offices will be closed on Wednesday, June 19 in observance of Juneteenth.

Close this search box.

2017 EdTA Austin Yeatman Technical Theatre Scholarship awarded to Brett Rose

Thespians singing on stage at the International Thespian Festival

May 1, 2017

STO scholarships17 rose headshot

The Educational Theatre Association annually awards this $1,000 scholarship in honor of Austin Yeatman, a Thespian inducted in 1966 who was active in his local theatre community and passed away in 2005 after a battle with cancer. This scholarship is awarded to a Thespian pursuing a technical theatre major or minor in college who demonstrates leadership qualities, organizational skills, experience in different aspects of technical theatre, and an appreciation of the value of the arts to our society and to a well-rounded education. This year’s recipient is Brett Rose, Troupe 7050, Cypress Woods High School, Cypress, Texas.

Rose plans to major in costume design at DePaul University. His costume design portfolio submitted in his scholarship application impressed the judges. He believes theatre has the ability to enhance lives by creating more accepting, loving, and aware people. “My perseverance and sense of responsibility have only been heightened through theatre,” he says, “and I certainly would not be the strong and compassionate person that I am today without having been shaped by every single production that I have helped create.”


Latest EdTA News